Liner Roughrider, gearbox problem

Discuss compact dumpers here

Topic author
oldbikeles

Liner Roughrider, gearbox problem

Post #1 by oldbikeles » Thu Feb 03, 2011 8:14 pm

I have been using this dumper on and off for 3 months now, mostly just shuffling backwards and forwards empty or full. When I bought the dumper, I tested it in a field and checked reverse and all 3 forward gears were OK. Two days ago, needing a bit of forward velocity to get through some soft sand with a load of clay, I selected either second or third. (not sure which). When I tried to select reverse, it was stuck in the gear, with gearstick wobbling pointlessly.
Obviously the (flattened ball) end of the gear stick had "escaped" the selector's slot.
When I removed the top cover with gear stick, I found a loose spring, with one turn broken off, around the lower part of the stick. Since it looked a mess down below, I drained the box; firstly water, then the dipstick, then some rusty emulsion. I know the answer to that lot!
However I am confused by the spring. Should it have a "washer" or suchlike below the spring? Maybe I should go fishing with an iron wire and a strong magnet.
When I loosely fit the cover, without spring, I can lift the stick more than 1/4", so wonder if I should extend the end of the stick (weld and regrind) to get more length, thereby ensuring a greater depth of engagement.
Does anybody have an exploded drawing of this part of the box, or the complete gearbox?
Not easy to read the brass plate on top of the gearbox, but it appears to say :-- CPR Motor Ltd. Coventry.there is a No., probably 19518, and a second one, 40M41- (I think) Stamped into the top casting itself is 40M220, and R*JH2 (do not know what the * should be.
Help. Oldbikeles.

Jeremy Rowland

Re: Liner Roughrider, gearbox problem

Post #2 by Jeremy Rowland » Thu Feb 03, 2011 8:32 pm