LEYLAND 4/98NV WILL NOT REV UNDER LOAD

Talk about technical issues here. Questions and answers!

Topic author
jeff mann
Flag: Wales

LEYLAND 4/98NV WILL NOT REV UNDER LOAD

Post #1 by jeff mann » Sun Aug 02, 2015 9:02 pm

Hi gentlemen,
New to this site ,looking for an expert ...I am a time served car mechanic, but that was a long time ago....
i have a boat with a leyland 4/98 NV engine (jcb i believe). it revs freely in neutral happily up to 2800 rpm. I put the boat in drive (borg warner velvet drive 1:1) ,and the revs will not go past 1400rpm...i have drained the fuel tanks,treated the new diesel with fuel bug killer,and put an injector cleaner additive in .i have renewed the parker racor filter element and put a new lift pump on the engine . there is a second fuel filter near the engine which has also been renewed ..only thing i can think of now is the CAV Dpa high pressure pump is shot ...do these pumps have some kind of advance and governing system ...i don't know ,but i imagine they are working ok cos it revs freely in neutral
Any boffins out there with any ideas ...pleeease
Thanks , Jeff

philwheelton
Flag: Great Britain

Re: LEYLAND 4/98NV WILL NOT REV UNDER LOAD

Post #2 by philwheelton » Mon Aug 03, 2015 12:03 am

I would have thought 2800 rpm is very high for this engine as they only rev to about 2200 when in a JCB .
it could be a fault in the injection pump letting it rev too high when not under load.

Topic author
jeff mann

Post #3 by jeff mann » Mon Aug 03, 2015 12:16 am

thanks for that......well it wont go over 1400 under load , if i could get it past 2000 i would be pleased ....i think i need to get the pump recalibrated
thanks , jeff

essexpete

Post #4 by essexpete » Mon Aug 03, 2015 10:12 am