Bought a JCB 3cx for Export

Discuss loaders/backhoes here

Topic author
DARKLING
Flag: Great Britain

Bought a JCB 3cx for Export

Post #1 by DARKLING » Sat Nov 02, 2013 3:57 am

Hi Everyone, I have just bought a jcb 3cx 1988 model. I am very new to all this as i drove it for the first time yesterday. That was the first time i had ever driven a jcb. When i bought it i looked around for some time and i bought from a bloke who seemed honest.
I have bought it as we want to export it to Thailand to dig some ponds out, on our farm out there.
I measured yesterday and realize to get it in the container, 40' high cube i would need to take off the front shovel and wondered how hard this is to do and possibly how to do it. I also know that one back leg has to be cut off and re-welded once it arrives.
I really am a novice at all this so please be patient with me if i don't quite understand everything.
Thanking you for your time to all those who can help me.
jcb 3cx turbo 4.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Jeremy Rowland

Re: Bought a JCB 3cx for Export

Post #2 by Jeremy Rowland » Sat Nov 02, 2013 10:25 am

Hi and welcome to CMN :wave: taking a bucket off is no big deal but cutting a leg off the machine :arrrrgh: that is more of a problem, well getting it welded back on properly could be a problem. Is this just so that the machine will fit in a container?
Surely JCB don't cut em to bits when they export them so I would have thought that perhaps there may be a better way than hacking part of the machine to pieces? :think:

Jeremy

Topic author
DARKLING

Post #3 by DARKLING » Sat Nov 02, 2013 10:36 am

Hi Jeremy, Thanks for your reply, would like to know how to take the the front bucket off as i am not sure what to do about the hydraulics.
Also the newer models are not as wide as the old ones so they go straight into a container. I don't think JCB ship their machines in a container.