jcb 3C II head gasket replacement

Discuss loaders/backhoes here

Topic author
osubob24

jcb 3C II head gasket replacement

Post #1 by osubob24 » Sat Oct 20, 2012 1:52 am

I've bought a JCP 3C II this spring. It would only run for an hour or so before stalling. I pressurized the radiator and I noticed coolant coming from around the head bolts. I guess I'll need to replace the head gasket, a task I've never attempted. Are there any tricks?

Do I need to remove the exhaust manifold? Those bolts look so rusted!

Any help would be appreciated.

Bob

Julian

Re: jcb 3C II head gasket replacement

Post #2 by Julian » Sat Oct 20, 2012 7:31 am

osubob24 wrote:
Do I need to remove the exhaust manifold? Those bolts look so rusted!

Bob

I've no JCB experience, but in general terms if you don't fancy your chances with the exhaust manifold then it can stay on provided there's room and you can cope with the extra weight.

You'll probably find they do come off though. Give them a wire brushing and soaking in WD40 and use a 6 sided socket on them....

Julian.

essexpete

Post #3 by essexpete » Sat Oct 20, 2012 6:55 pm

I would agree with Julian, I am sure I have taken head off in the past with out removing manifolds or injectors. That would be the quickest method but I have also replaced a 4.98 and an IH head gasket to find they blew again and the head needed skimming. The other thing I would check is how clean the rad is both with a flush and make sure the external core is not blocked. It is hard to see when the rad is insitu and if there is an oil cooler in front. It may be an old over heating issue that caused head g failure.

philwheelton
Flag: Great Britain

Post #4 by philwheelton » Sat Oct 20, 2012 8:58 pm