Jcb 3c ii ram problem

Discuss loaders/backhoes here

Topic author
browuk
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 7:32 pm
Real name: Dave

Jcb 3c ii ram problem

Post #1 by browuk » Sat Jun 12, 2010 3:59 pm

Hi all, first post here, been lurking but not had to post until now.

My question, the top ram on my jcb backhoe will come in (push arm out) but only with relatively high revs then as soon as you let off the lever, it drops straight back, also, there is no power in it when digging it just wont pull the bucket through the dirt, all other movements work fine, its just this one,a hose burst on it a while ago and it sat doing nothing, have replaced hose now, Have topped up fluid but no go.

any ideas.

thanks


bsbplant
Posts: 287
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 7:15 pm
Real name: Brian
Been thanked: 6 times
Flag: Great Britain

Re: Jcb 3c ii ram problem

Post #2 by bsbplant » Sat Jun 12, 2010 4:29 pm

Ram seal gone inside the ram ??


Topic author
browuk
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 7:32 pm
Real name: Dave

Re: Jcb 3c ii ram problem

Post #3 by browuk » Sat Jun 12, 2010 4:38 pm

bsbplant wrote:Ram seal gone inside the ram ??


Can anyone else confirm this is likely the problem and if so, how do I change it?

thanks again


essexpete
Posts: 2951
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 12:43 am
Real name: essexpete
Has thanked: 546 times
Been thanked: 358 times

Re: Jcb 3c ii ram problem

Post #4 by essexpete » Sat Jun 12, 2010 6:06 pm

I suppose ther could be a spool leak but pistons seals most likely. Trapped air could be a problem. If you back a union and power it gently you could eliminate that. Usually cycling the ram will get rid of air. Don't get close to hydraulic oil squirting under pressure.
To change the piston seal will rquire the removal of the end cap which screws on. You will then have to pull out the rod with the gland and piston. You might find a seal kit with a JCB agent or independant specialist like Vicary plant. You might have a job undoing the end cap without the correct C spanner. I made something using an old heavy G clamp.


Topic author
browuk
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 7:32 pm
Real name: Dave

Re: Jcb 3c ii ram problem

Post #5 by browuk » Sun Jun 13, 2010 4:43 pm

Hi thanks, been out at it today to take a look and the previous owner has welded the cap on the end so I aint gonna be getting to the seals, if it is the seals at fault, looks like I will have to replace the ram. on that note, before I take it off, does anyone know what this ram is called (boom possibly) and what is the approx weight?


steve ball
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 10:26 pm
Real name: Steve Ball
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Jcb 3c ii ram problem

Post #6 by steve ball » Sun Jun 13, 2010 9:33 pm

The top ram's normally referred to as the dipper ram. I had to change mine recently and went for a reconditioned one.

The end cap on mine was also welded on (all the way around the circumference plus 2 x 1" wide straps welded from the end cap across the joint and onto the cylinder body!).

I would guess that it weighs in the order of 40 - 50 kg. It was fairly easy to change using a car engine hoist to take the weight whilst trying to drift the pins in. Take the opportunity to change the spring steel bushes at the same time.


Topic author
browuk
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 7:32 pm
Real name: Dave

Re: Jcb 3c ii ram problem

Post #7 by browuk » Sun Jun 13, 2010 10:20 pm

steve ball wrote:The top ram's normally referred to as the dipper ram. I had to change mine recently and went for a reconditioned one.

The end cap on mine was also welded on (all the way around the circumference plus 2 x 1" wide straps welded from the end cap across the joint and onto the cylinder body!).

I would guess that it weighs in the order of 40 - 50 kg. It was fairly easy to change using a car engine hoist to take the weight whilst trying to drift the pins in. Take the opportunity to change the spring steel bushes at the same time.


Hi Steve, thanks for that, sounds like mine, its the same on the bucket ram too but thankfully that function well.
Do you mind me asking how much you paid for a recon one?


steve ball
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 10:26 pm
Real name: Steve Ball
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Jcb 3c ii ram problem

Post #8 by steve ball » Mon Jun 14, 2010 2:55 pm

The reconditioned ram cost me about £200.

Some places offer them on a service exchange basis but given the "bodge" that was performed on mine at some stage, this wasn't really an option.


Topic author
browuk
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 7:32 pm
Real name: Dave

Re: Jcb 3c ii ram problem

Post #9 by browuk » Mon Jun 14, 2010 10:36 pm

£200 seems good but actually got myself a used one from breakers apparantly no problems with it and end cap untouched, paid £100 and sorted deliery to france for £38+vat so not bad if it fixes my problem.

User avatar

TullyveeryClassicJCB
Posts: 689
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 8:49 pm
Real name: William Mulholland
Location: County Down
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 42 times
Flag: Great Britain

Re: Jcb 3c ii ram problem

Post #10 by TullyveeryClassicJCB » Tue Sep 28, 2010 2:27 pm

The Loader on my 3c3 is very weak and slow when raised and drops down slightly after raising. There is also a slight sound like a ping or crack when rising. How can I be sure the problem is with a ram and not with the valve block?
William

JCB Hydra Digger Loadall 65
JCB 3DIII Powertrain
JCB 3DIII (Manual)
JCB 3DII
JCB 3CIII
JCB 805B


Return to “Loaders/Backhoes”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests