3CX black cab: no drive

Discuss loaders/backhoes here

Topic author
QAnon
Flag: Great Britain

3CX black cab: no drive

Post #1 by QAnon » Wed Jul 06, 2022 3:29 pm

Hi All,
I'm looking at a 1984 4WD black cab 3CX which has sat for 3 years having lost all hydraulics. We found a blown steering hose which cured the hydraulics but it has no drive. It creeps maybe an inch but nothing more. Oil has been topped up (checked with engine running). There is a missing donut support for the intermediate driveshaft which would let that thrash around way too much. The owner is not sure when this came off.
-I'm not experienced with these machines so am looking for any pointers really...
-I'm wondering if the loose driveshaft may have massively damaged the drive?
-I read elsewhere here about possible failed clutch packs?
-I read about simple issues of broken springs to relief/dump valves? -not sure if these apply to this machine!
-Any other checks we can make before running away from this one..?
-Any experienced ideas at all are welcome! :D

Jeremy Rowland

Re: 3CX black cab: no drive

Post #2 by Jeremy Rowland » Fri Jul 08, 2022 8:52 am

Hi Alec and welcome :wave: there is a wealth of information and skill on this site so somebody should come back to you with some good advice. :thumbup:

Jeremy

essexpete

Post #3 by essexpete » Fri Jul 08, 2022 1:11 pm

Is the forward/reverse a small yellow stalk or a big chunky lever?

Topic author
QAnon

Post #4 by QAnon » Sun Jul 10, 2022 10:24 am

Hi Pete,
So we've got a cable operated shuttle, found the cable off! But now pretty certain the torque converter to pump seal has gone. We had reverse but no forward and after an hour or so adjusting and checking things we had no drive at all. Oil is pushing out between the starter and bell housing.