1987 JCB BLACK CAB OILS/FILTERS

Discuss loaders/backhoes here

Topic author
DannyP
Flag: Australia

1987 JCB BLACK CAB OILS/FILTERS

Post #1 by DannyP » Sun May 29, 2022 7:34 am

Hi fellow machinery enthusiasts,
I am a newbie and have just bought a 1987 Black cab from a deceased estate, without any paperwork, although I have found a vin number I think, on an old registration paper I found when I started emptying 20 years accumulation of rubbish in the cab. The vin number is 3CX4324814 P. I have been in touch with my local JCB dealer in Western Australia, but they have said they don't keep any info prior to 1990 anymore. It is a 4wd and has a shuttle which I think is electric and a 4 speed gearbox, the gearbox has a spin on filter on the side of it and what appears to be a small oval plate on the bottom of oil pan with two studs and I assume it holds some type of mesh filter. I am just wondering if anyone has a list of build numbers, which would help me identify exactly which shuttle/box I have because after reading all the posts, I am still confused as to whether the shuttle and box are all one, sharing the same oil or if they are two separate boxes with different types of oil. I would also like to change all the filters and oils but cant seem to find any info on that. the engine is definitely a 4.236 non-turbo Perkins with a LD prefix and I have found the oil and fuel filter numbers for that, but am struggling with the inner and outer air filters because there seems to be two different types that look very similar and they are so caked in dirt and rust I cant see any numbers on them. The filter on the transmission has the same number as the one on the engine, so I don't think that's quite right as I would assume the transmission filter would have a high flow filter on it. Oils are another problem as I have read that the shuttle uses ATF and then also it takes SAE 10w, and the rear diff takes universal oil and then I thought I heard mention of HD90 in there somewhe