JCB 3?

Discuss loaders/backhoes here

Topic author
mechman
Posts: 395
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2013 4:13 pm
Real name: norman orrick
Location: N.E.Lincs
Has thanked: 93 times
Been thanked: 79 times
Flag: Great Britain

Re: JCB 3?

Post #21 by mechman » Fri Aug 20, 2021 10:52 am

The engine is as sweet as a nut (I want to keep it that way) It's the 3.8 td (I think) I've read that the Simms in line injector pump has to be topped up with lube oil, Where on the pump is the the filler? I don't want to be loosening things I shouldn't, I wont be at the machine for a week or so, Then it's all the other foibles associated with an old machine.
Norm.


essexpete
Posts: 3573
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 12:43 am
Real name: essexpete
Has thanked: 720 times
Been thanked: 531 times

Re: JCB 3?

Post #22 by essexpete » Fri Aug 20, 2021 7:56 pm



Topic author
mechman
Posts: 395
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2013 4:13 pm
Real name: norman orrick
Location: N.E.Lincs
Has thanked: 93 times
Been thanked: 79 times
Flag: Great Britain

Re: JCB 3?

Post #23 by mechman » Sun Sep 19, 2021 2:42 pm

Hi all.
The front bucket rams were leaking (nearside badly) so decided to change the seals etc. Had a right job removing the ram and discovered that the cylinder had been dented at some time and had damaged the piston etc (scrap). We had a couple of complete 3c mk3 ones lying around and made an executive decision to fit them to the mk2. We cut 1/2" out between the bosses that hold the cylinder and called it a day, so didn't have time to try mk3 ram/cylinder in. Anyone else done this mod? will it work? took two pics only lost the one of the cut bosses.
Norm :dizzy:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Topic author
mechman
Posts: 395
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2013 4:13 pm
Real name: norman orrick
Location: N.E.Lincs
Has thanked: 93 times
Been thanked: 79 times
Flag: Great Britain

Re: JCB 3?

Post #24 by mechman » Sun Sep 19, 2021 6:09 pm

If this mod works, would the machine become a JCB 3c two and a half?


MrF
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 10:35 am
Real name: Phil F
Location: France
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 74 times
Flag: France

Re: JCB 3?

Post #25 by MrF » Sun Sep 19, 2021 8:57 pm

No, it'll still have the pain in the bum half door to climb over into the low cab and other mk2 "features" :)
I've broke a 3c2 for spares for my 3c3 and used the mk2 loader arms on it as they were in much better shape (in fact they looked identical to the mk3 ones, bar the abuse metered on it by previous owners), but I just fitted the 3c3 rams onto the 3c2 arms, I didn't have to trim the bushes back or anything to make the conversion work. I still have the thinner mk2 rams in storage but shipping one would cost more than a new one locally.


Jeremy Rowland
Moderator
Posts: 8207
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 8:36 pm
Real name: Jeremy Rowland
Has thanked: 1615 times
Been thanked: 1505 times

Re: JCB 3?

Post #26 by Jeremy Rowland » Sun Sep 19, 2021 9:47 pm

Good luck with it Norm :thumbup: like all old machines you keep on finding more bits wrong or broken/damaged but it's all part of the fun. :thumbup:

Jeremy


Topic author
mechman
Posts: 395
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2013 4:13 pm
Real name: norman orrick
Location: N.E.Lincs
Has thanked: 93 times
Been thanked: 79 times
Flag: Great Britain

Re: JCB 3?

Post #27 by mechman » Mon Sep 20, 2021 11:40 am

Mrf thanks for the reply.
We have a 3c3 parked next to the 3c2 so we can compare dimensions and the loader arms on the 3c2 will not accept the rams off 3c3 without chopping the bosses, it would work the other way around though. mk2 onto mk3. Design dimensions could have changed somewhere along the line, who knows.
Norm :|
Edit. The loader arm on the 3c3 we have has a wider cross section than the 3c2.


essexpete
Posts: 3573
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 12:43 am
Real name: essexpete
Has thanked: 720 times
Been thanked: 531 times

Re: JCB 3?

Post #28 by essexpete » Mon Sep 20, 2021 12:10 pm

I changed the long reach arms from a 1970 Mk 11 directly on to a MK 111 power train. I thought there was little difference?


Topic author
mechman
Posts: 395
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2013 4:13 pm
Real name: norman orrick
Location: N.E.Lincs
Has thanked: 93 times
Been thanked: 79 times
Flag: Great Britain

Re: JCB 3?

Post #29 by mechman » Mon Sep 20, 2021 2:24 pm

We might have an odd ball, but it's definitely getting Skinny Rams swapped out for Fat rams, hence chopping the bosses. The arms on our 3c3 are about 20mm wider than our 3c2.
Norm.


Topic author
mechman
Posts: 395
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2013 4:13 pm
Real name: norman orrick
Location: N.E.Lincs
Has thanked: 93 times
Been thanked: 79 times
Flag: Great Britain

Re: JCB 3?

Post #30 by mechman » Sat Sep 25, 2021 7:10 pm

Hi all.
Managed to fit the fat ram today tightish fit but it's in. One to go. Noticed today that the loader arm rams are wrong for this model they're to fat and a tad to long.
Norm.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Return to “Loaders/Backhoes”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests