JCB 3CII Kingpost issues

Discuss loaders/backhoes here

Topic author
MarkHez
Flag: Ireland

JCB 3CII Kingpost issues

Post #1 by MarkHez » Wed Sep 18, 2019 9:51 pm

Forgive me in advance for any incorrect terms, I'm new to the job, but will try and explain what I'm on about!

I've just acquired a 3CII, 4/98 engine, 10 speed box, first drive of it on Saturday afternoon, I found the hydraulic oil was low and then a loader pipe burst, which brought the oil level low enough to stop the steering. The only place I could ditch it out of the way of a working yard was a very very boggy bit of grass which I knew it would sink into, but that's the way things go and it was the only option till I could get a pipe made and a few drums of oil on Monday.

Stuck 10gallon of oil in Monday and the new pipe, brilliant, hydraulics great, on to trying to get it unstuck - seemingly in getting it unstuck I've snapped the kingpin.

Now to explain my understanding of it, the "kingpin" is the piece of pipe up the middle of the "knuckle" and rests in the "Kingpost" top and bottom. That may be wrong terminology, but it's how I'll describe my prospective bodge:

If I were to drill a large (1" or 1.5") hole through the knuckle and the kingpin below the point where it has sheered, then either shoved a large pin through, or tapped for a bolt in either side, would this get me going again, as long as I treated it knowing that that's all that's holding it together? (And not try and dancing digger type manoeuvres to get unstuck again) it should never see any hard work in my use, but in my head the bodge makes sense until I can afford a new full Kingpost and knuckle!

Thoughts would be appreciated.
Cheers

(My differentiation of kingpin and Kingpost is the bit I reckon is cocked up, if it doesn't make sense, read it again as drilling through the knuckle into the Kingpost and shoving a pin through the whole lot)

topkit
Flag: Great Britain

Re: JCB 3CII Kingpost issues