Crane's pre 1970

Discuss cranes here

Topic author
beck&pollitzer

Crane's pre 1970

Post #1 by beck&pollitzer » Thu Feb 04, 2010 2:26 pm

Hi All,

I have been going back through our archives (Beck & Pollitzer Engineering) and have come across these photo's.

Do not have much information on them, so any further greatly appreciated.

Will post more when I come across them.

Regards

Simon
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Jeremy Rowland

Re: Crane's pre 1970

Post #2 by Jeremy Rowland » Thu Feb 04, 2010 3:12 pm

Hi Simon,

Welcome to CMN thanks for posting the crane pics, very interesting although I am no crane expert I'm sure there are members who can enlighten us all on the cranes in these pics.
Are Beck & Pollitzer a national company or just a Midlands company? I do still see trucks in your livery in my area?

Jeremy

martyn williams

Post #3 by martyn williams » Thu Feb 04, 2010 5:12 pm

The photo of the Coles crane in pic 4 is interesting.There is one like it still in use at Newport.
It seems to be used at Rowecord engineering.They are prefabricating structures for the London 2012 games.I will take my camera in to work and see if I can photograph it.
Dinky toys made a model of it I think.
Martyn

Topic author
beck&pollitzer

Post #4 by beck&pollitzer » Thu Feb 04, 2010 5:40 pm

Hi all

Update

Picture 3 is from September 1958 and is of a new model of Rover Car being lifted into the Royal Festival Hall by crane number 19 for a Press Preview.

Picture 4 is from Belle Vue Manchester and was a lift for the Textile Machinery and Accessories Exhibition taken October 1958. It was a 15 tonne mobile crane made by Coles(thanks B100 LOADER)

Jeremy Beck & Pollitzer is now an international company operating from 16 locations. The company will celebrate it's 150th year in 2013.

Thanks for the welcome

Simon

Martyn Henley
Flag: Great Britain

Post #5 by Martyn Henley » Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:34 pm

Welcome to CMN Simon :thumbup: