B250 Fuel problem

Discuss tractors here

Topic author
Redt
Flag: Australia

B250 Fuel problem

Post #1 by Redt » Fri Aug 20, 2021 12:41 am

Hi All, I have a B250 tractor that just slowed and stopped. Im new to working on diesel engines.
I checked the fuel coming out of the tank and found it was blocked.
Cleaned and also replaced the fuel tap and glass bowl as had been leaking for ages.
Not having much success at clearing air from fuel lines, any suggestions?
I also don't have a button to press for glow plugs and usually start by squirting starter fluid in air filter.
Struggling to find diagram of what parts are called and how they are connected.

Thanks in anticipation

gecko.cx

Re: B250 Fuel problem

Post #2 by gecko.cx » Fri Aug 20, 2021 8:10 am

Welcome Redt.

International B250 I presume?
does your lift pump have the glass sediment bowl? Check the condition of the seal and make sure it is tight as it may be sucking air in past the seal.
Last edited by gecko.cx on Fri Aug 20, 2021 2:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Jeremy Rowland

Post #3 by Jeremy Rowland » Fri Aug 20, 2021 9:43 am

Hi and welcome Adrian :wave: if you had a tank blockage due to muck then I'd guess that any fuel filters would also be blocked, make sure that you can pump clean diesel through the lift pump, taking note of what has already been said above, then change the fuel filters and undo the bleed plug on them and pump clean fuel through making sure that you purge any air in the system.
I am not sure which type of fuel injection pump is fitted to that machine, there may also be a bleed nipple on there which needs the fuel to flow through it without any air, finally in some cases it may be required to slack off each fuel injector high pressure line at the injector (the steel pipe) and spin the engine over till fuel is seen leaking from each pipe, then nip em back up and she should hopefully fire up.