IH B250

Discuss tractors here

Topic author
Dave K

IH B250

Post #1 by Dave K » Tue Nov 22, 2016 1:22 am

I inherited an IH B250 that hasn't been run in 4 years. I'm told it was working fine when put away, and it's been sitting in an unheated garage. After such a long nap, what preparations should I take before trying to start it? I'm new to tractors and don't have a clue beyond what's in the manual.

Dave K

Jeremy Rowland

Re: IH B250

Post #2 by Jeremy Rowland » Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:34 am

Hi Dave welcome to CMN :wave: If I was in your position the first job I would do would be to check the oil and water, then carefully try turning the engine over by hand, you only need to move it a little just to confirm that it has not suffered a standing seizure although if its been undercover I suspect that it would turn freely.
You will need a fully charged battery and clean battery terminals, I would be tempted to bleed some fresh fuel through although this may not be necessary, many old engines will start after long storage periods, good luck anyway let us know how you get on?

Jeremy

Mrsmackpaul
Flag: Australia

Post #3 by Mrsmackpaul » Tue Nov 22, 2016 1:24 pm

Im not quite as cautious as Jeremy I would just check water and oil see if theres fuel in the tank and chuck a good battery in those B 250's need plenty of heat on the glow plugs Im fairly sure
I would have a look at the glass bowls on the fuel filters if it has them to see if they are clean
The little Inters like that I have driven have a perforated knob thing on the dash and you put your thumb on that and hold the key on heat till your thumbs hot then start them this may take 30 or 40 seconds

Paul
Your better to die trying than live on your knees begging

hair bear
Flag: Great Britain

Post #4 by hair bear » Tue Nov 22, 2016 9:25 pm

The best thing would be to give me your address and I'll come and take it away. There, problem solved!