hydrolic oil change Jcb 3c 111 1978

Discuss excavators here

Topic author
cadetleader1
Flag: Great Britain

hydrolic oil change Jcb 3c 111 1978

Post #1 by cadetleader1 » Sun Jun 14, 2020 6:30 am

Hello Guys im new on here and currently restoring the above machine. would anyone know how to do a full hydrolic oil change, wheres the the drain plug? how do i empty the old oil out of the rams and tank. step by step instructions would be great. thanks a lot.
Russ

Jeremy Rowland

Re: hydrolic oil change Jcb 3c 111 1978

Post #2 by Jeremy Rowland » Sun Jun 14, 2020 10:41 am

Hi Russ and welcome to the site :wave: I'm no JCB expert but there are those on here who should see this post and offer some good advice. :thumbup:

Jeremy

CHRISEEBOY

Post #3 by CHRISEEBOY » Mon Jun 07, 2021 11:35 pm

I'm sure its not the correct/best way, but when I took the hydraulic pump off my 3cIII I'm pretty sure the vast majority of oil would have come out had I not plugged both the hoses. As you look at the pump head on from the front of the JCB, the fat hose on the right is the return. If you undo the two jubilee clips and prize off the hose oil will literally gush out. If you are looking to do a complete oil change it might be a good way of getting most of the oil out. I was trying to save mine but ended up losing about 30L!

MrF
Flag: France

Post #4 by MrF » Tue Jun 08, 2021 3:11 pm

There's drain bungs on the bottom of the tanks, there'll be some left in there if you drain it out of the pump connections only & even then the main filter canister probably will hold a residual 20l that you can drop. A full change is a LOT of oil, 200 litres. I'd put a new main filter element in while I was dropping the oil and clean out the mesh pickup filter inside the lefthand tank. The most expensive thing by far will be the price of 200L of hydraulic oil unless you drive a hydraulic oil tanker for someone and can skim off the delivery a few times or similar :)