Total novice just bought a JCB 5C - help!

Discuss excavators here

Topic author
motornoter
Flag: Great Britain

Total novice just bought a JCB 5C - help!

Post #1 by motornoter » Fri Jan 18, 2019 12:13 am

Hi all, I've always been a fan of old machines and have run classic cars for 35 years but this is a first - I only just moved to a house with enough space!
I bought this one from a farm near Buckingham, got it delivered today - it's in working order but a bit tired, in many ways - plenty of oil leaks, tracks a bit sluggish, part of engine cover missing, most wiring disconnected, etc etc.
Hoping to improve it all round but don't have a clue where to start - all advice welcome! Info on how to maintain it and where to find parts would be a real help, to get me started...

Thanks!
Malcolm

strontium90

Re: Total novice just bought a JCB 5C - help!

Post #2 by strontium90 » Fri Jan 18, 2019 7:07 am

Hi motornoter….Good luck with your new purchase...While I know nothing of JCB's, in 2016 I was in the same boat as you, having bought a Hymac 580 C (a machine from the same era as your JCB)….I remember saying to my brother in law, who had one previously, that "I knew nothing about them" and he replied "by the time your finished, you'll know all about them"...
I would start by looking online and try to source a workshop manual and users manual for her...they will be your Bible...
Try to house her or get somewhere sheltered, with access to power, to work on her...you could start by tensioning your right hand track, as you don't want the hassle of a track coming off...Also, there is a Swedish site which has some downloads (https://www.maskinisten.net/downloads.p ... C&start=25 ) and the guys are quite helpful...Happy digging..

Edit...There is a Parts manual for your machine on this site, in downloads, which gives you an exploded view of things, which will help you understand better how she works.

Jeremy Rowland

Post #3 by Jeremy Rowland » Fri Jan 18, 2019 9:05 am