IH 500 Drott slipping transmission

Discuss dozers here

Topic author
prolater

IH 500 Drott slipping transmission

Post #1 by prolater » Wed Oct 21, 2009 8:13 am

Hello All, Newbie here with an IH 500 slipping transmission problem.

First post so I hope I have done this right.
I recently acquired an IH500 Model:5K3 serial:567 and as you prob have guessed am having some problems.

When I first got the machine it did seem to drive in forward ok, but while getting it to where it is which was all up hill the hydraulic pump for the rams etc blew a seal and spewed the oil out unbeknown to me, then the machine stopped going anywhere, well I fixed the pump & seal then put oil back into it then bang this not going forward started and has persisted ever since.

The machine goes well in reveres(power shift) but forward hardly moves, not so bad when it is first started but after 10 minutes or so you have no forward motion at all.
The machine on a whole is in reasonable condition for its age with a few problems that I have been slowly working through.

Things I have checked is the trans oil level which is good, the only thing I am not sure of is the brand of oil that should be in the transmission, a mechanic at the local tractor shop suggested using Caltex torque fluid 414 or Mobile hydraulic 10W but I do not know whether these oils should be really be in it, any suggestions on the actual types of oils that would suit it and be ok would be greatly appreciated, but I am in Australia where some oils are just not available or seem that way such as Hy-Trans.

I have ordered a parts manual & chassis manual not sure what others I should get advice would be welcomed.

So my question to all is what would the problem be with the transmission & what would the fix for this be.